Whitton

Photo Credit: Nathan Dyer

Just 25 kilometres west of Leeton, the village of Whitton offers a unique peek back into the district’s past. Back in the 1850s, bullock teamsters and drovers moving their stock from Queensland to Victoria used the present site of Whitton as a camp when the river flooded, which happened regularly.

Originally named Hulong, Whitton was renamed after John Whitton (1820–98), who was engineer-in-charge of the New South Wales Government Railways at the time. Rail reached Whitton in 1881, and the settlement became a local centre for rail freight movements.

Whitton’s Memorial Park features a monument to the pioneers of Whitton and the teamsters who travelled the stock route. It also highlights the use of ‘whips and whims’ to raise water for the village.

Whitton Pool offers swimmers a 25-metre pool with six lanes and a shaded toddler pool. The expansive well maintained lawn areas with BBQs provide a great setting for a family day out!

While you’re in the area, be sure to check out Southern Cotton Gin. Gin tours are available at 3pm on weekdays during ginning season (April-September) or by other appointment.

Whitton Courthouse Museum

Whitton Courthouse Museum is currently closed to all public due to some structural damage on some buildings until further notice.

Southern Cotton Gin Tours

Gin tours are available at 10am on weekdays during ginning season (approximately May to September). Advanced tour group bookings are essential. Cost is $10 per person. Closed shoes are required.
Please phone 02 6955 2755 to make an appointment.